Last post by Robert Leonard in topic Traveling Photographer--best shots

Topics: 3250
Posts: 36757

Fake Offer

 
 
Total results: 21
Pages: 1 |  2     [2]
 
Hi everyone this is a fake offer the one who sent me this letter says he's from uk but when i checked his ip address i found that it s actually from nigeria. this is a copy of the email sent to me. take care


quote email:

Hi,

It is my pleasure to contact you.As a talent scout by name Edward farrell which i reside in Essex-United Kingdom ever since the era of world modelling portal.Considering my 12 yrs of experience in this profession and verious link i have with many Modeling Agency and as well some European Business firm ,lead me to bring to your notice of an on coming Trade Show and modelling event called [RJG-MODELLI / TRADE MEGA BLAST] that will take place in London and Spain,on 31 August - 3 September 2008.

This event is organised and sponsored twice annually by a jewellery consultancy Firm [ Reed Group Inc.] and the event supports both professional/amature (models/photographers) to come and showcase their talents and it equally expose them to a greater height which enable them abreast the latest techniques in the present world modelling industry.



It also creat forum for exchange of ideas and contacts among all the invited models from different part of the world which the models are easily hooked up with other lucrative offers and assignment from representatives of giant European based companies that will be present in the event in search of models for different work assignment.However,all the necessary arrangements for the event is on progress,while entries for interested participants is now open.In line with the benefits and huge amount the firm normally invest in this event,subject their screening and selection exercise strictly on merit which the firm will take care of your Airfair,Accomodation and feeding expenses for any selected models / talents.



Moreover, after the event the three best performed models will be asigned immediately for one year contract / modeling assignment with every facility avaliable for confort,while runners-up will go home with a MERIT AWARD CERTIFICATE and Cash sum of £3,000:00 each as consolation prices. Therefore,if you are interested,you should attach and forward immediately your recent over head shot,one full size shot photos and phone number for contact, then email it to my office email: [ [*Email link removed*] ] which i will forward to the organisers / consultants for the Screening exercise.



I wish you all the best.



Regards,
Edward Farrell.
+447077083155.
Kimberley :)

Wow, my first indication that you were being scammed was the language.. If the person was from the UK he should have had a lot better english then what he was speaking. He couldnt even pronouce and spell words properly.

Glad you didnt forward him any information.

One of them scammers again!:angry:
They'll try anything to get to you, I've had e-mails turn up in my private e-mail box from 9 different ones in africa thinking I'm looking for a wife! or more to the point trying to con money out of me! I've noticed strange messages appearing in my inbox here too, one or 2 in the last 2 weeks that I'm not sure if to trust them or not with yahoo & gmail addresses in them!

Don't send any money and whatever you do don't give them any card numbers or bank details:thumbup:
:cool:

No offence, but if you give someone your bank account number or credit card number without even knowing them, you derserve to be scammed!

I don't give them anything!
What get me is the amount that turns up in the spam box, and everywhere else I'm a member of on the web you can't get away from them!
Why there has been such an influx of african scam in the past month I have no idea but it's just came like an african tsunami of scam!
What puzzles me is why try sites like Jurgita?:dunno:
:cool:

they will try anywhere they can. Scams seem to be the thing to do in the 21st century, and most of them seem to be comming from the Nigerian region, where banks, and such are harder to have info traced at.
just remember, scammers cant take your money, but you can give it to them..

Due dilligence should be practiced, and if something sounds too goo to be true it probably is. Always ask for references, never send money in exchange for shoots or exposure, and never attend anything by yourself. If the company wants money upfront for photos, protfolios, exposure, start-up fees. Look the other way.

If a company wants you that bad, then they would pay you not the other way around.

Kim: If you get such emails in jurgita.com box, and suspect it is scam, send link to profile or its id through ticket system. Someone will handle it, and maybe protect some other inocents. That is one of reasons we stoped accepting payments from nigeria.

Gary : Exposure. There are quite a lot of scammers in myspace and other portals as well, but they can run generic scams only there. Here one could run a more niche-specific ones, which might be more believable.

One of the reasons why we do not recomend contacting any simple members that claim to represent agencies is that we havent run any check about them like we do with the agencies. Also, it is harder to check person than organisation. We know though, that there are some professionals that register as members only, but you have to be very carefull when dealing with them.
Part of jurgita.com administration team.

thank giedrius, i had received a scam on jurgita inbox a long time ago but this one was from another modelling website and this morning they sent me a msg to inform me it was a scam.
Kimberley :)

:) So far, this is the only site i HAVEN"T gotten a scam letter. At one point I was stringing along 4 of them then telling them I had been forwarding our correspondence to the Attny Genl's Office and Interpol. Never heard from them again:lol:

I've had a couple of girls from west africa trying me to see if I'd contact them on their direct e-mails... I didn't!:thumbup:
If you get a message from someone if there's something you think's odd about it you're usually right:thumbup: but if you ask a valid question & get no answer to it then drop a line without hesitation to admin:thumbup:

I'm only in here as a member, if I do decide to be in Jurgita as a photographer I'll set up the proper type of account when & if I do:thumbup:

Any scammers contact me admin will know right away!:thumbup:
:cool:

:cantlook:that letter is obviously a scam.....dont give those people anything

I hate to say it but there are long standing members here that I believe are not what they say they are. They have offered me paid work and then mysteriously disappeared or a while or dodge my questions about doing their projects. I am personally pretty sick of the bull crap and am logging on less and less... The scams are so rampant here--- more than ANY of the 20+ sites I belong to. It is time to take out the trash for sure.

In Nigeria, they don't only send scam letters to models, they also scam you in offices.
I once had a photo session and signed up with an agent on this site in Nigeria. He refused to let me have my pictures, never got me a job and he split with his partner still giving me an impression that I'm still part of the agency.
They really exploit models here everyday. We just have to get wiser everyday and be watchful.
The few times I spoke out against matters like these, I only get condemned for doing the right thing.
sherlly butshy

You should not be condemned for saying the truth about anyone on this site. If someone is pulling crap on you, they are probably pulling it on several models. Why offer people money and say you will use them or their look if it is not true? For attention? To look like you have something to offer a model? I think it purely for ATTENTION!!! Only losers do that because they know that they really have nothing to offer and they are not what they want people to believe that they are.
It is too bad that we are even having to deal with this issue on this site. Honestly.... How many of you have EVER had a paid job from Jurgita? I don't mean a little TFP.. I mean real work? I would love to hear from those who have. I think we all would. That way we would know who is for real and who it is that just keeps running their mouth.

Wow...still waiting. Is there no one out there?

lool i think no one ever got paid work from here. i was offered work but it was scam so and no one seems to be getting work from here
Kimberley :)

There areeee so many scam letters. I'll make a new topic to let you know. I guess this moron send the scam offer to so many girls out there!
Visit my website! It's HERE :lips:

I am asking myself why I am even here this morning. As I said in a new post, my pics were moved around and my avatar changed. Too much drama here ----------and way to much of the scam thing. I guess as long as people pay they will allow it. But what self respecting "in the spotlight" model would allow her name to be placed on such a site? I am not sure Jurgita is aware that her site is going down the toilet. Or, Maybe she doesn't care? I am baffled......

yeah people are meaning to promise you things here but they never come
Kimberley :)

Kim and I have been been offered work only to find out they are nothing but fakes. Maybe we should do what they used to do in the old days. PUBLIC HUMILIATION!!!! LOL!!!!

From now on 50 activity points will turn into 1 credit, so you may earn credits as easy as never before !!!



All models and photographers are able to moderate photos! We will save a lot of time for moderators this way. Please read the short instruction on how to moderate and earn points very quickly.
Also, models and photographers can moderate part of the profiles as well! This is a fast way to earn some action points and credits!
 
 
Total results: 21
Pages: 1 |  2     [2]